All Collections
Account Management
How to Set Up or Edit Roles & Permissions in Your Dealer Management System
How to Set Up or Edit Roles & Permissions in Your Dealer Management System

Set your team up for success with the appropriate system capabilities and permissions with Roles & Permissions.

Ken Lane avatar
Written by Ken Lane
Updated over a week ago

Provide everyone in your company with the appropriate level of control over your system.

To keep your dealer management system operating smoothly, it is encouraged to allow and restrict access to different parts of the system using the Roles & Permissions settings in your Company Settings panel.

In this piece, we'll cover:

How to Access Your Roles & Permissions Settings

Make sure you are signed into your Dealership Drive account.

Screenshot of: Make sure you are signed into your Dealership Drive account.

Select "Account Management"

Screenshot of: Click "Account Management"

Select "Seller Settings"

Screenshot of: Click "Seller Settings"

Select "ROLES & PERMISSIONS" from the options. You may need to select the side scroll arrow pointing right to find it.

Screenshot of: Select "ROLES & PERMISSIONS" from the options. You may need to select the side scroll arrow pointing right to find it.


From the Roles & Permissions control panel, you are presented with:

Roles

For initial company administrators, they will find a tiered list of default parent administrative roles beginning with the Company Administrator—granting full permissions—to the Company Sales Representative—granting far fewer permissions for the average sales staff member.

Quick permissions Referencing: for quick reference as to the permissions of a specific role on the fly, select or hover each role's corresponding "?" icon.

Users Assigned

The Users Assigned section will list which users in your company are assigned to the selected roles.

Initial system users will be considered "Company Administrators"—a parent administrator classification that provides full access to all system permissions. Additional team members who do not require full access should be assigned to roles that best coincide with their appropriate level of permissions—which leads us to...

Permissions Assigned

The Permissions Assigned panel shows an itemized listing of which specific capabilities (permissions) are accessible for the selected role. These cannot be altered for default roles but adding new custom roles allows for full customization of permissions.

Default Roles

Default roles are noted by the "System Default" column and cannot be renamed, deleted, or have their permissions modified. If a default role doesn't fit your needs, then create a custom role.

How to Create a Custom Role

Custom roles can be added with similar permissions to the default role you create them under. To begin creating a custom role, first select the role with a similar level of permissions that you ultimately would like to assign to your custom role.

With the similar role selected, select the "+ Add Role" button that appears.

In the "Add Role" panel that appears, enter a role Name, Description, and select "Create Role."

To begin assigning users to your new custom role, first select the box to the corresponding role. Tip: If you don't immediately see the new custom role, select the arrow icon to the side of the corresponding default role to present the associated child custom roles.

To begin adding users to your existing or customized roles, make sure the check box for the corresponding roles is checked and select the "+Assign User" button just below "Users Assigned."

In the panel that appears, first select the downward arrow corresponding to the "Users" label and then select the user from your company that you would like to add to the specified role.

To confirm your selection, select "Assign User" to add the user to the role.

How to Edit the Permissions for a Custom Role

To edit the Permissions for a custom role, first select the role you would like to edit.

Select the specific access permissions you would like to grant to the custom role.

How to Remove/Unassign Users from a Role

To remove a user from a particular role, select the role, followed by selecting the user, "Bulk Actions," and "Unassign."

How to Delete a Custom Role

To remove a custom role, select the role, the "Actions" and "Permanently Delete."

And it's just that easy!

Now you're equipped with what you need to know about editing and customizing roles and permissions within your company's dealer management system through Dealership Drive.

If you have any questions, feel free to reach out at support@mlsinc.com.



Did this answer your question?